Support & Solutions to help you cope with the loss of a companion animal through the process of "Loving Forward"

Pish Posh Says

Happily barking about challenges, achievements & resources so you can love life with your rescue pet


A charitable community for slightly delinquent animal pals - Join us - Be a part of the Destruction!

Jun 08, 2012 | Post by: LundDia No Comments

Differences Between The 5 Stages of Dying and Grief


In 1969, Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross wrote the groundbreaking book, On Death and Dying.  Based on a series of interviews she conducted with terminally ill people, Dr. Kubler-Ross outlined five stages a person can experience.  The stages do not follow one another in a line.  The stages are dynamic processes that interweave within each other.

Within the professional therapy, counseling and coaching communities there is disagreement as to whether these stages even exist. I will not discuss this controversy.  Rather, I would like to focus more on the following:


  • part of the Five Stages of Death and Dying
  • depression
  • something to get over


  • conflicting feelings caused by end of, or change in, familiar pattern(s) or behavior(s)
  • a normal process in reaction to a loss:

Grief is the deep & poignant distress caused by bereavement:

  • Bereavement is the period of mourning or grief following the death of a beloved person or animal.

There is an emotional component that can be any of or all of the following experiences:

  • Anger
  • Guilt
  • Sadness
  • Despair

These emotional components can be compounded by physical reactions including changes in:

  • Sleep
  • Appetite
  • Physical illness

Grief is a process, a journey if you will.  It is perfectly normal to experience any and all of these reactions.  If you feel that there are significant issues in your life that make processing grief difficult or impossible and are holding you back from moving forward with your life, please consider working with a trained, licensed therapist or counselor to help you resolve your concerns.

As a life coach, I am excited to coach you in moving forward with your life following the loss of your companion animal – to help you experience the rewards of Loving Forward.


  1.  Kubler-Ross, E. (1969) On Death & Dying, Routledge, ISBN 0-415-04015-9
  2. Friedman & James. “The Myth of the Stages of Dying, Death & Grief”, Skeptic Magazine (2008)
  3. ( )
  4. Merriam Webster Dictionary ( )

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *